

## The International Council for Near Infrared Spectroscopy

Established in 1986 to promote the advance of NIR technology

Chairman:

Chair-elect: Dr. P.Dardenne Dr. A. Garrido-Varo Immediate Past Chairman: Mr. P.C. Flinn

Secretary: Dr. M. Manley A/Treasurer: Dr. S. Holroyd

Córdoba, 19th May 2010

## Tomas Hirschfeld Award 2011

The THA 2010 will be celebrated at IDRC2010 (14th International Diffuse Reflectance Conference, July 31 - August 6, 2010, at Wilson College in Chambersburg, Pennsylvania, USA.- http://www.idrc-chambersburg.org/) and the nominee is Dr. Jim Reeves. More information about can be found on the ICNIRS website (http://www.icnirs.org/awardees.php). We need now to look forward to next year's recipient.

Nominations are now being invited by ICNIRS for the 2011 Tomas Hirschfeld Award. This award sponsored by BÜCHI Labortechnik AG (CH) is made in recognition of contributions to the enhancement of Near Infrared Spectroscopy. It is made on the basis of excellence in research conducted be a scientist of international standing.

"The winner of the Hirschfeld Award needs to have made a significant contribution to the growth of NIR technology. Eligibility is not restricted to senior scientists: graduate or post-graduate students who have done unique work in the field are also eligible. The award is open to academic or industrial researchers from any country, with the only restriction that the candidate must not be a direct employee of an instrument company"

The award will be presented at the NIR 2011 ICNIRS Conference (15th International Conference on Near Infrared Spectroscopy - 13-20 May 2011, Cape Town, South Africa - http://www.nir2011.org/) and the award is open to all practicing NIR scientists who are not direct employees of any NIR or other optical instrument manufacturers. The final nomination package must include:

- 1. a letter of nomination;
- a one page summary of contributions to the enhancement of NIR spectroscopy (these are to be written by the nominator and all further requirements will be requested from the nominated individual),
- four most relevant literature or patent citations, 3.
- a short bibliographic note with a recent photograph.

At this stage, all that is required is item 1 above but please note that all nominations must have the agreement of the nominated person. The letters, faxes or emails must be sent to the Chair-Elect Ana Garrido-Varo by no later than 31 October 2010.

## Contact details are as follows:

Prof. Dr. Ana Garrido-Varo palgavaa@uco.es **ICNIRS** Chair-elect Campus de Rabanales Edificio Producción Animal 14071 Córdoba (Spain) tel. 0034212221 fax. 0034218436